Finish or don’t even Start

15

“Whatever it takes to finish things, finish. You will learn more from a glorious failure than you ever will from something you never finished.” – Neil Gaiman

As a human you have flaws. Face it. Whether it’s hitting the snooze button every morning in a reflex and therefore being late on every single meeting or having the same social skills as a carrot, which are not really known for their amazing social gatherings.

One of the greatest flaws I have is the fact that I start a ton of things and almost finish.. none. I have a problem with finishing things, no matter what. Example time:

  • I have a ukulele on which I can only play the verse of Jason Mraz’s – I’m Yours
  • When I made a summary for a course I would summarize 80%, then I would just stop and figure that if I would know 80% of this 80% I would probably make it.
  • I got my first job at 14, in the 4 years that have past I have had 9 jobs, whether it is delivering papers/working in a glass house/grocery stores/cleaning other peoples houses or working in a theather. I have never had a job for longer then 1 year because I would always quit within 6 months, mostly because of pure boredom and the fact that I hate working (except from the theather thing, I love that).
  • I once started to learn free running. I still can’t hop a fence.
  • I would never eat the last bit of my sandwich, nowadays I do because of intense Ironman hunger and the fact that i eat between 3000-5000 calories a day, I need that last bit.
  • Etc.

You get the point.

Now, think of a person with the exact skill named above and add to that person the ambition to finish an Ironman Triathlon. The possible outcome of that is either that the person quits the challenge for whatever reason, spends his last money on a flight ticket to Peru where he will live his life as José and hopes he will never be found by relatives just because of the shame that he now carries with him OR the commitment that he has made to himself has him learning a lot more about himself and his habit of quiting things, which will eventually (hopefully) result in him finishing the Ironman and overcoming the habit that he passionatly hates.

I can’t yet tell you how the story ends (suprise, suprise), however a lot, would need to happen for me not to finish my Ironman. If I break my leg I will swim, bike and crawl it, I don’t care but I’m not going to not finish it, I have invested to much time, money, blood, sweat and tears into this thing. Eventhough I am not yet done, his year has already shown me that you can accomplish anything if you   – Nike slogan incoming – :

Just Do It

One comment

Leave a Reply

