Change and then change again.

Change

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.” – Gail Sheehy

So today I made an important decision for my future which basically indicates the final step of my ”I-want-to-do-an-Ironman-because-I-don’t-have-a-challenge-in-live-plan”. I signed up for the second year of my college education. Well, no big suprises there, an 18 year old getting back to college because training for an Ironman is not paid by the government. What did you expect.

Somehow this got me thinking, and it made me nervous, because when I think, I think deep, and when I think deep I realize stuff, and when I realize stuff I will be shocked about it all day, and sometimes that makes me nervous, hence the phrase “this got me thinking and it made me nervous.” Well, what did I realize then? I realized how much I have changed throughout this IronJourney, escpecially in the last 8 months. I suddenly realized that the change that I go through is almost visible for the naked eye, I realized that if people would have spoken to me a year ago that they would have seen a totally different me, and I realized that college will be much different because I have a much more different mentality about it then I used to have (<- the one that makes me nervous). Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely freaking adore the change that I have gone through and are still going through because I am a more self-consious person with a stronger mentality and the ability to make his dreams become reality. However, I am worried that this year will have been the biggest step forward in the next 3 years, simple because this year I actually had the time to reflect on myself and develop myself. College can be/is a time consuming thing and eventhough you learn very useful skills, I have never had the feeling that it made me grow in such a big way. This year I made a leap forward and I don’t want to fall back in old habits and definitely not that old mentality of giving a 60% effort on tests/in life.

On the other hand I look at it as a new challenge, the challenge to make college a challenge in itself, to actually get good grades, find time to reflect and develop myself and -one of the most important things ofcourse- KEEP ON TRIATHLONING. All I know is that to maintain this change I got to set myself goals for next year, because change is what makes you grow and, for me, is what makes my live great each and every day.

So for this blog I want to ask you 2 questions which you can either answer in the comments or just keep it for yourself, as long as you just think about it:

  1. How much have you changed in the past year and was it a change for the better?
  2. What will you do in the upcoming year to change yourself for the better? 

Just think about it. As long as you’re alive you have time to change for the better, and that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

