Look Back Sunday #5: Is it Humanly Possible?

Swim bike run

Another end of the week, Another Look Back Sunday!

To end every phase of the training plan I have come up with my own little tradition: I print out the next 10 weeks and hang them on my bedroom door, beautifully centered around the iconic M-dot logo of Ironman which I spray painted on the door 2 years ago.
So instead of printing the total program in one go, which would be an incredible torture to watch throughout the year, I print out the next phase when I’m done, clearly indicating for myself that I have not yet died of a heart attack which means my body has given me the green light for even more triathlon pain, how utterly fantastic.

While I was putting the last weeks of the schedule into Microsoft Word I rembered something nostalgic:
I remembered looking at the final weeks of the training 1,5 year ago and think to myself: That is in no way humanly possible and I would die doing that incredible amount of training. 

Now, 1,5 years later, while I have gone through a lot of training and progress I can proudly say that my thoughts on the final weeks of the training plan are: That is in no way humanly possible and I would die doing that incredible amount of training. 

How times have changed huh?

Seriously, the final 5 weeks of the program are a totally different ball game compared to all the other weeks of training.
Peaking at 23 hours of training in one week has me questioning myself: are you mentally insane?
What kind of freaking coach/expert sat in a room and thought to himself: “You know what would be a good idea? 23 hours of training with a 6 hour (180K) bike ride and a 3 hour (30+K) run”

But the catch for me is: when the hell did I thought to myself: “You know what would be a good idea? 23 hours of training with a 6 hour (180K) bike ride and a 3 hour (30+K) run”.
I can’t remember making that decision and I demand a second opinion because this is outrageous on so many levels. Was I even consious at that moment? Had someone drugged me? Did I thought the program would end at week 20 instead of 30?

Neither way I have learned that I’m not great at making well-thought-out plans that will leave Future Stefan in understanding.

But hey, on the other side: my lack of making rational, good decisions has caused me to train for an Ironman and has led me on the most fantastic journey of my young life. And don’t forget that an Ironman Triathlon is a mentally idiotic thing to do so I guess making mentally idiotic decisions is part of the mentally idiotic circle of life.

So, looking at the question of: are you mentally insane? I would like to say: yes, yes I am. 

Leave a Reply

